Pizza Pizza Daddy-o

As all five of you who read this blog already know, I adore carbs. I especially fancy carbs that have bread-like qualities. Some of my fave versions of these carbs include soft pretzels, bagels, and naan. Although I like these kinds of carbs A LOT, I had never made anything that required yeast. It always intimidated me. I was always afraid the dough wouldn’t rise. But this past Friday night I took that leap and made something that required yeast. My husband, niece Kailah, and I made pizza dough.

If you have ever feared making things that required yeast, take it from me, making pizza dough is not hard at all. Just be sure that you use warm water, not hot or cold. Hot water will kill the yeast and cold water won’t make the yeast do anything. Oh and if you like, you can add a little sugar to your yeast mixture. This will give the yeast something to eat and helps to promote better yeast activity.

Anyway, back to our pizza.

 Kailah measured out the flour.

 We used local, organic honey.

 The yeast mixture.

Our toppings of choice: mushrooms, tomatoes, feta, and mozzarella.

 Lovely, aromatic fennel seed.

Pizza perfection.

Final verdict? The crust was a million times better than any pizza crust we had ever bought previously. I could actually taste the honey in it. It was also quite cheaper than store-bought pizza crust. And we all know that saving money is a good thing.

Try making your own pizza from scratch sometime. And when you do, don’t forget to invite me. I’ll bring the dessert.

What is your favorite kind of pizza?

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough from How Sweet It Is

1 packet dry active yeast

3/4 cup warm water

~2 cups 100% whole wheat flour (we used all-purpose)

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons olive oil + more to rub on bowl

1/2 teaspoon salt

Mix yeast and warm water and let sit until foamy. In a separate bowl, mix flour and salt together. Once yeast is foamy, add in olive oil and honey and stir. Mix into flour and knead to create a dough. You may need to add a bit more flour if dough is too sticky.

Place in an olive oil-rubbed bowl and cover. Let rise for 2-3 hours.

Print This Recipe

What's up, Buttercup?

