Oh Sugar Honey Iced Tea!

I was never one to really use swear words. On occasion, when it seemed fitting, I would let some slip. But once my oldest started to talk, eventually repeating the things I was saying, I became a lot more aware and cautious of what I said. I knew she would most likely be sassy but I didn’t want her to grow up sounding like George Carlin. I started to use words and phrases that still had the feeling of a swear word but were, for the most part, G-rated.

Here are some that I use (or just really like the sound of).

Fudge – My current f-word.

Cabbages – Substitute for a c-word that is synonymous with poop.

Sugar – Substitute for the s-word.  Insert your favorite SNL Celebrity Jeopardy Sean Connery joke here.

Gunfunnit – Used locally in Hawaii (or elsewhere by people who have lived in Hawaii) and could mean any expletive you want it to mean. My husband’s co-worker says that the older you get, the more often you use it.

Shut the front door – I don’t know why, but this one usually makes me smile.

Oh sugar honey iced tea – Never noticed its use in the movie Madagascar until my husband pointed it out.

What are your favorite swear word substitutes?

One thought on “Oh Sugar Honey Iced Tea!

  1. Pingback: What’s Next for Matt and Trey? | A SHINY LIFE

What's up, Buttercup?

