Gaga for Granola

I made granola for the first time a little over a month ago. It was so easy and a lot cheaper than buying it from the store. I think I’m becoming addicted to it. I love the crunch. I love that you can put chocolate chips in it. I love that since it’s considered healthy, I don’t feel guilty when I eat a bit more than my fair share. But don’t you worry. I feel plenty guilty when I dip strips of crispy bacon in some melted chocolate or peanut butter. Hmmm… I wonder how chocolate covered bacon with SPRINKLES would taste. Pretty awesome I bet.

This granola recipe was adapted from one I found on How Sweet It Is. Love that blog. I totally want to be one of her BFFs. Do you have a favorite granola recipe? Would you mind sharing it with me? Thanks.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Granola Bites adapted from How Sweet It Is

Makes about 24 bites

Ingredients

2 cups dry rolled oats

¼ cup sweetened flaked coconut

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ cup chopped pecans

½ cup chopped macadamia nuts

1/3 cup chocolate chips (I chopped mine a bit)

½ cup peanut butter

¼ cup pure maple syrup (approximately, you may need a bit more)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325⁰F.
  2. Combine oats, coconut, salt, nuts and chocolate chips in a bowl and mix. Add peanut butter and mix with 2 spoons, coating as much as you can. Eventually you may need to mix with your hands – I did this to create more of a dough. Add maple syrup slowly and coat thoroughly. If the granola won’t stick together, add more maple syrup 1 teaspoon at a time and really mix with your hands.
  3. Spray a mini muffin tin with non-stick spray. Using an ice cream scoop, scoop balls of granola into the tins, making sure they stick together as best as they can.
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes, checking it every 10 minutes to make sure granola isn’t burning. Remove from oven and let cool completely – this is a MUST to ensure the granola sticks together.
  5. When cool, gently twist or use a spoon to remove granola from the tins.
What's up, Buttercup?

