Freakin’ Awesome Friday: Julie Andrews

Hey guys, guess what day it is? It’s Freakin’ Awesome Friday!

What is Freakin’ Awesome Friday? Well it’s something that I’m going to try to do every Friday. I will be featuring one person or group of people who I think are über talented, inspirational or just freakin’ awesome. Some of them will be famous and some will not. If you have someone in mind who you think is freakin’ awesome and want to see them featured on this blog, feel free to send me a message here.

Julie Andrews

Growing up, I used to watch The Sound of Music and Mary Poppins A LOT. They were filled with songs that you couldn’t help but want to sing along with. Plus, they starred the amazing Julie Andrews.

What can I say about Julie Andrews that hasn’t already been said? She’s a great singer and actress. Her film work includes roles in Thoroughly Modern Millie, The Princess Diaries and Shrek 2. She is also no stranger to the stage, starring in musicals such as My Fair Lady, Camelot, and Victor Victoria. She is involved with countless charitable organizations, including Save the Children and Operation USA and has also authored several children’s books including Mandy and The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles.

There’s just something about her that makes me wish she could be one of my grandmas. I’d love to be able to share some cookies and tea with her. Oh and I’d also love to sing karaoke with her. That would be freakin’ awesome.

What is your favorite Julie Andrews’ movie or musical?

What's up, Buttercup?

