NOT a Dessert

Every time we have a gathering at my maternal grandmother’s house I am always asked to bring a dessert or drinks.  I usually don’t mind bringing desserts for parties since I like to bake but at my grandma’s house there’s always like five other desserts and my dessert often goes uneaten. But for our Father’s Day gathering this year (which was actually held on Saturday) I didn’t have to bring a dessert or drinks. My uncle actually said that I could bring whatever I wanted. I just had to let him know what I was bringing.

At first I was totally stoked. What?! I can bring ANYTHING I wanted? My mind was racing with ideas. What do I bring for Father’s Day that isn’t super difficult to make but tastes really good?  Then it hit me. Baked meatballs. But not just any baked meatballs. These meatballs have cheese in them. And not just one cheese. They have two totally different but equally yummy cheeses in them. Perfect. Cause who doesn’t love meat and cheese together? I mean except for vegetarians or vegans, of course.

Here are the meatballs before they rolled around in some bread crumbs.

Here’s one getting a nice bread crumb coating.

And here’s some after they got some oven lovin’.

Meat and cheese. The carnivore’s peanut butter and jelly.

What did you make/eat for Father’s Day? 

Baked Meatballs adapted from Alton Brown

Ingredients

1 pound ground beef

½ pound ground pork

½ cup finely shredded mozzarella cheese

½ cup finely grated parmesan cheese

1 whole egg

1 ½ teaspoons dried basil

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon sea salt

½ teaspoon dried oregano

½ teaspoon onion powder

½ teaspoon red pepper flakes

½ cup bread crumbs, divided

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the ground beef, pork, mozzarella, parmesan, egg, basil, garlic powder, salt, oregano, onion powder, red pepper flakes, and 1/4 cup of the bread crumbs. Using your hands, mix all ingredients until well incorporated. Use immediately or place in refrigerator for up to 24 hours.

Place the remaining 1/4 cup of bread crumbs into a small bowl. Divide meat mixture into four equal sections. Make six meatballs per section. You should have 24 meatballs total.  Shape the meatballs into rounds, roll in the bread crumbs and place the meatballs in individual, miniature muffin tin cups. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden and cooked through.

Print This Recipe

2 thoughts on “NOT a Dessert

    • It’s super easy. And you can play around with the herbs and stuff. I was thinking of trying to make a Greek/Mediterranean inspired version using stuff like cumin, cinnamon and feta. 🙂

What's up, Buttercup?

