Blondies are the Bees Knees

If you asked me whether I would rather be a blonde or a brunette, I would say brunette. If you asked me whether I prefer blondies or brownies, I would say blondies. Now, I know that in dessert world it’s blasphemous to say you prefer blondies over brownies but I can’t help it. Don’t get me wrong, I do love brownies, especially ones made with dark chocolate, but blondies are the bees knees. Hmmm… do bees actually have knees? Will have to Google that later.

Focus, Arbine, focus. I am a camera.

Okay. Sorry. Don’t mind me talking to myself. Where was I? That’s right. Blondies. I’m not exactly sure why I prefer them over brownies. Maybe it’s because they have brown sugar in them. Maybe it’s because I like butterscotch. Or perhaps it’s because I think Debbie Harry is pretty cool. Please don’t tell me you don’t know who Debbie Harry is. Just lie and say you do.

So what did I do with my beloved blondies? I made ice cream sandwiches with them. Genius, right? Well I wish I could take credit for coming up with that idea but alas, it’s been done many, many times before. Here’s what I did.

I baked a batch of blondies in two pans.

IMG_6181

Line the pans with parchment. Or they may end up like the blondies on the right.

IMG_6184

Spread your favorite ice cream over one blondie layer. I used vanilla ice cream.

IMG_6187

Cover well with plastic wrap and freeze for 4 hours.

IMG_6192

Cut and devour!

So what do you prefer, blondies or brownies?

Gentlemen Prefer Blondies Ice Cream Sandwiches

Ingredients

Your favorite blondie recipe

Your favorite ice cream, slightly softened (I used about 12 scoops of ice cream for a 8×8 pan)

Directions

Mix together ingredients for your favorite blondie recipe. Divide mixture evenly and spread into two parchment lined and greased pans. (Trust me on the parchment. I learned the hard way that you should use them.) Bake for approximately half the time the recipe calls for, or until a toothpick comes out with only a few crumbs attached. When done baking, place pans on a wire rack to cool completely.

Once completely cooled, remove blondies from pans. Line a pan of the same size in plastic wrap, letting some of the wrap hang over the edges. (I just used one of the pans that I baked my blondies in.) Place one blondie layer top side down and spread softened ice cream over it. Top with other blondie layer. Take plastic wrap from sides and use it to cover the sandwich. Put into the freezer for at least four hours to firm up. Once firm, carefully remove from pan. Take off plastic and cut into desired shapes.* Eat or refreeze.

*Be sure to use a really sharp knife and run it under hot water before cutting. I didn’t and kind of made a mess of my sandwiches. 

Print This Recipe

What's up, Buttercup?

