Don’t Like Salad? Try This.

When I was younger I wasn’t a huge fan of salad. I avoided it as much as possible, pushing it around my plate to make it seem like I was actually eating it. And then one day I discovered something that could make salad taste really good. And no, it wasn’t bacon. Mmmmm…bacon. Crispy bacon. On a burger with avocado, caramelized onions, and gooey melted cheese. Sandwiched between a warm pretzel roll.

Sorry about that. My mind easily wanders when I think about yummy stuff like bacon. I’m back. I promise. Back to salad. One day I discovered something that could make it taste really good – dressing. I had a fondness for super creamy dressings like ranch. It made my salad taste less salad-y.

So, any guesses to what I made with some of the strawberries I had? Yup. I made a salad dressing.  A slightly sweet and tangy strawberry vinaigrette.

IMG_6417The strawberries before they were blitzed in the blender.
IMG_6434 It will make your taste buds do a happy dance.

What is your favorite type of salad dressing?

Kaylee and Simon’s Strawberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

Ingredients

1 cup fresh strawberries, hulled and chopped (about 6-7 strawberries)

¼ cup olive oil

1 ½ tablespoons balsamic vinegar

½ tablespoon red wine vinegar

½ teaspoon granulated sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

⅛ teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor fitted with a blade. Blend until smooth.

Print This Recipe

What's up, Buttercup?

