Looking For a Job

findajobImage from expresshomebuyers.com

Looking for a job. It’s never easy or fun. I have been fortunate enough to be a stay-at-home mom for the past couple of years but I know that I can’t be a SAHM forever. My husband and I really want our girls to attend preschool but preschool tuition costs an arm, a leg, a couple of kidneys and a spleen. And that’s just for one child. I will have no choice but to go back to work so we can afford it. The sad thing is, even with me going back to work full-time, we will still need to apply for tuition assistance. Crazy, I know, but true.

I have some time before I need to actually start looking for a job though. About six months to a year. But I know that time flies by super fast and before I know it, I will be scouring the help wanted ads. I also know that I will probably not find a job I really love. When I do find a job, it will most likely be a job that just pays the bills. As much as I dislike the idea of working just to pay the bills, or in this case tuition, it’s something that I will have to do. For my girls. Always. Everything for my girls.

Now, if this were a perfect universe, we would all have jobs we really love. Jobs that we were actually passionate about. And when we got up in the morning (or evening if you’re a night owl) we wouldn’t dread heading off to work. We would be excited about it. No one would ever have a case of the Mondays again.

So, what would I like to do and get paid for? Anything from the list below would be A-OK with me.

  1. Write a blog about food, motherhood and everything in between.
  2. Bake out of my home for very small parties (like 10 people or less).
  3. Test recipes for baked goods and/or desserts.
  4. Create recipes using the shows Firefly, Doctor Who, Lost, Community, and Futurama as inspiration.
  5. Travel across the U.S., with the kids and hubby, and write a blog about the many different sweet treats we come across.

And if any of these jobs could send me to Paris, London, or Germany twice a year, for ummm… research, that would be swell.

What is your dream job? 

4 thoughts on “Looking For a Job

  1. You can actually get paid for blogging, and you can get paid at least $100 per entry, depending on who you work for. Definitely look into that and it can be a side-job kinda thing, and you can write about whatever you please. I follow some bloggers who are SATM and they get a pretty penny having at least 10 paid blogs. I’ve thought about doing that, but I don’t think my writing skills are top-notch. Or you can get google ad-sense and apply it on this blog; it’ll look tacky with ads but with every click you get so much money, so it’s a trade-off.

    Good luck in whatever you plan on doing. What schools are you looking into for your daughters?

    • I am definitely considering looking into getting paid for blogging. Still unsure about my writing chops and how it will hold up to others who actually make a living from writing for blogs. I decided against doing something with ad-sense because I didn’t like the look of it. Thanks for sending some luck my way.

      For preschools, we’ve only looked at a couple of KCAA preschools so far. Tuition is astronomical though. And their tuition is at an average rate.

What's up, Buttercup?

