Four and Twenty Blackbirds

In dessert world, cake and ice cream usually reign supreme. But there is one dessert that is often overlooked. One that can most definitely be deemed a comfort food.  That dessert, my dear friends, is pie.

Oh, pie. If only you got the recognition you deserved. You are so versatile. You can be sweet or savory. Deep dish or hand-held. Hot or cold. Eaten alone or à la mode. Your crust can be flaky and tender, dense and chewy, or simply made with cookie crumbs. But one thing remains the same. You are always delicious.

The other day I made a pie. A square pie. What? You already know I’m not a normal person. Why make a normal pie? Okay, I actually just really wanted to make a pie using my macadamia nut shortbread crust and I’ve only ever made it in an 8×8 inch square pan. At first I wasn’t sure what kind of filling I wanted for my pie. I was thinking maybe coconut cream or chocolate macadamia nut but then settled on a classic. Banana cream. But I wanted to make it a little more special. So I made mine a bananas foster cream pie.

IMG_7179 The ever important banana.
IMG_7190 My version of a bananas foster.
IMG_7217 I sprinkled macadamia nuts over the top.
IMG_7225 It tasted pretty amazing.
IMG_7231 Mmmmm…

Got a favorite pie recipe that you’d like to share?  I’ll gladly feature on my blog.

That Ship is Bananas Foster Cream Pie adapted from cooks.com

Ingredients

Crust

½ cup macadamia nuts, chopped

1 cup flour

¼ cup sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, chilled and cubed

Bananas Foster

2 tablespoons butter

2 bananas, sliced

⅔ cup brown sugar

½ teaspoon vanilla

¼ teaspoon salt

Cream Topping

2 cups milk, divided

1 8oz. package cream cheese, room temperature

1 package instant vanilla pudding mix

Chopped macadamia nuts, for sprinkling (optional)

Directions

Crust

Preheat oven to 350⁰F.

Combine macadamia nuts and sugar in a food processor fitted with a blade. Process until finely ground. Add flour and salt. Process until combined. Add butter and process in short bursts until the mixture looks like sand. Press mixture into the bottom and up the sides of an 8×8 glass baking dish.  Bake for 12-15 minutes. Cool on wire rack.

Bananas Foster

In a medium pan, melt butter over medium low heat. Add bananas and cook for 2-3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add brown sugar, vanilla and salt. Turn heat down to low and cook for 2-3 minutes more and stir constantly. Set aside.

Cream Topping

Combine ½ cup milk and cream cheese. Beat together until thoroughly combined. Add pudding mix and remaining milk. Whisk carefully until thickened. Set aside.

Assembly

Spread bananas foster mixture evenly onto crust. Carefully spread cream topping over bananas foster mixture. Sprinkle macadamia nuts over cream topping. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

Print This Recipe

2 thoughts on “Four and Twenty Blackbirds

  1. What am I thinking? Let’s see, bananas rock even more and with a culinary work of art like these I want a life time supply. My tummy loves the pictures.

What's up, Buttercup?

