A Haircut

I got a haircut yesterday. And not just any haircut. I got a mom haircut. Did you even know there was such a thing? Yeah. It’s a real thing.

There are two stereotypical haircuts/styles that moms usually go for. For both, no actual styling is required. No flat-iron, blow dryer or round brush needed. It’s basically just wash and wear. One is a longer style that can easily be pulled back using a rubber band, scrunchie (if you’re stuck in the 80’s or 90’s), or headband. The other is a shorter style, often above the shoulders. I unintentionally got the latter of the two.
IMG_7245 After I got my haircut, the words mom haircut kept repeating in my head. Like some kind of weird mantra. Why couldn’t the words rainbow sprinkles have been on repeat in my head instead? I like the sound of that a lot better than mom haircut. When I got home though, I looked at my haircut again and started to really like it. It was definitely a change. But a nice one. Because, you know what? I am a mom. A screaming, worrying, cookie baking, boo-boo kissing mom. And I love every stress inducing minute of it.

But if I ever start reaching for mom jeans, just slap me.

Seriously. Slap me.

4 thoughts on “A Haircut

  1. Right now I have the mommy ponytail-do! Ugh, I was never really had a got-it-together-look person in the first place, but now I’ve slowly entered into mommy-has-NO-look-ville. Help! I’m too young not to care…but I’m totally too tired TO care!

    • I totally know how you feel. I looked in my drawers and closet the other day and it seems like all I have are a plethora of graphic tees, workout shirts, zumba pants, a couple of jeans, a couple of shorts, some business type dresses and one casual summer dress. WHAT THE HECK! I’m trying to incorporate some cute dresses and skirts into my wardrobe but they’re kinda hard to come by at places like Savers and Goodwill. Plus it’s not like I can really wear them at home cause they’ll end up getting food or baby stuff on them. *sigh* At least with this new haircut it’s harder for the youngest to pull my hair. Silver lining. 🙂

What's up, Buttercup?

