Why You Should Drink Water

After our junk food feast and viewing of Bridesmaids on Sunday, we went to my mom’s house for dinner. Since I had eaten waaaay too much food at lunch, I wasn’t really hungry. I ended up perusing Pinterest. What? I was doing research for future Ab Fab Fridays.

Around the time that The Amazing Race was going to start, I started to feel different. I felt a bit dizzy, almost like I was going to faint. I could hear my voice when I talked but it almost felt like it wasn’t me who was talking. I know. Weird.

I wasn’t exactly sure why I was feeling that way. Then I realized that I hadn’t drank any water ALL DAY. I only had a couple of glasses of iced tea. And my blood sugar was probably pretty low since I didn’t eat dinner. Before we left my mom’s house I made sure to drink two big glasses of water and eat a bowl of Portuguese bean soup.

By the time we got home I felt tons better. I think I scared my husband for a bit as well as myself. Moral of this story: Water is good. Drink it. The End.

Oh and just in case you thought I forgot, here are those chocolate chip cookies I promised you on Tuesday.

You could eat the dough just like this if you didn’t feel like baking.

They are really good with ice cream.

Or with some ice-cold milk.

Make them. Tonight.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

½ cup old-fashioned rolled oats (like these)

2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 ½ teaspoons baking soda

½ teaspoon cinnamon

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup light brown sugar

½ cup granulated white sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

3 cups bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Grind oats in a blender or food processor until fine, almost to the consistency of a powder. In a medium bowl, add oats, flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Whisk to combine.
  2. In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugars together with hand mixer for about 3-4 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, beating thoroughly after each addition. Add vanilla and beat for another minute.
  3. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and beat together for about a minute until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Refrigerate dough for about 6-8 hours. Overnight is preferable.
  5. Preheat oven to 350⁰F.
  6. Drop ¼ cup portions of cookie dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Be sure to leave about 2 inches of space between the cookies.
  7. Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until lightly golden brown.

Print This Recipe

What's up, Buttercup?

