Chocolaty M&M and Pretzel Cookies

Yesterday started out like an ordinary day. I was watching my niece Kailah and we made some cookie dough. Since it had to chill in the fridge for a couple of hours, I decided to prep dinner for the next night. ( I like making meals in advance.) While I was in the middle of doing that, Kailah told me something was wrong with Amara.

I immediately rushed to the living room and saw Amara COVERED in bumps that looked like hives. I completely freaked out. I had no idea how she got them. She hadn’t eaten anything out of the ordinary. I also checked her temperature and she didn’t have a fever.

When I called her pediatrician’s office, they said to just keep an eye on her and to bring her in if it didn’t go away by morning. Luckily, after a nap in the A/C, the bumps had gone away. I absolutely hate it when my kids are sick. I’m such an emotional wreck when they are.

On a happier note, the cookies turned out pretty darn good.


These are always good to have in your pantry.


You can’t go wrong with M&Ms.

Some saltiness to balance out all the sweet.


My baking assistants. I pay them in cookies.


Raw cookie dough eaters: once you start, you may not be able to stop.

What’s your favorite sweet and salty treat? 

Chocolaty M&M and Pretzel Cookies adapted from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature

1 ½ cups granulated white sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 cups flour

½ cup cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)

1 teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup M&Ms

1 cup pretzel sticks, broken into small pieces

Directions

  1. Cream butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until fluffy. Add flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt and mix until combined.
  2. Fold in M&Ms and pretzel pieces. Refrigerate dough for 2-4 hours (or more).
  3. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350⁰F. Roll dough into balls or scoop with an ice cream scooper and set on baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool completely.
4 thoughts on “Chocolaty M&M and Pretzel Cookies

    • Thanks! I totally love soft serve ice cream and french fries. My friends and I think there should be food trucks that sell just that. Have a great day!

What's up, Buttercup?

