Pinterest and a Trifle

Of all the places online where a few minutes can easily turn into a couple of hours, Pinterest is my new favorite. It’s filled with lots of pretty things and can be quite educational. Yes. I said educational.

Things I’ve Learned From Pinterest

  1. I am not a very creative/crafty person. There are tons of pictures of ridiculously gorgeous crafty type things on that site and I just know that if I ever attempted them, it would look like a kindergartener did them. No offense to kindergarteners. You guys are awesome. When you guys use sarcasm, it’s not considered mean. It’s cute. Sometimes I wish I could be a kindergartener.
  2. I wish I could style/decorate my food like this or this or this. But it usually ends up looking like the bottom of this.
  3. Apparently I really like vintage looking dresses.
  4. People should really check their texts before they hit send. Auto correct can really screw up your messages. Funny? Yes. Some are totally laugh out loud worthy. But still. C’mon people. Check your spelling. Coming from the person who doesn’t know what she’d do without spellcheck.
  5. I will never be this organized. I think it’s 80% laziness and 20% ummm… okay it’s probably 100% laziness.
  6. All I have to say is What. The. Heck.
  7. I desperately want to go traveling. To other countries. Okay, so maybe I didn’t learn this from Pinterest, but I’m reminded of it every time I go to that website.
  8. My hair will never, ever be able to do this or this. No matter how much I want it to. Darn it for super straight and thin hair.
  9. Puppies, kitties, and other baby animals are always waaaaay cuter than their adult counter parts.
  10. I am not very witty. Witty sayings are abundant on Pinterest and I wish I had come up with a lot of them. But alas, my wit ends at jokes similar to “What did the farmer say when he lost his tractor?” “Where’s my tractor?”. Yeah, I know. You are either doubling over with laughter or doing a face palm. My guess is you’re doing the latter.

Now, here’s an easy peasy dessert for you.

You just need some pound cake.

And some pudding.

And ta-dah! You’ve got a trifle.

Okay, so it’s technically not a trifle but that’s what I’m gonna call it.

Easy peasy and delicious.

Pound Cake Chocolate Pudding Trifle

Ingredients

5-6 cups pound cake, cubed

1 (3.9oz.) box chocolate pudding mix

1 ¾ cups milk

2 tablespoons chocolate covered toffee bits (such as Heath Bar)

Directions

  1. Layer pound cake on bottom of an 11×7 inch baking dish.
  2. In a medium bowl, add chocolate pudding mix and milk. Mix with a hand mixer or wire whisk for about 2-3 minutes. Pour over pound cake.
  3. Chocolate covered toffee bits over the top.
  4. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.
What's up, Buttercup?

