Nutella Cupcakes

I’m not a huge fan of zombies. I don’t mind them in Michael Jackson’s Thriller video. I also liked the movies Shaun of the Dead (love Simon Pegg) and Zombieland. But other than that, not a huge fan.

A couple of weeks ago my husband was watching The Walking Dead season 2 premier. Why did I start watching it? I don’t really like zombies and yet I was intrigued by the story. Darn it. I didn’t want to get sucked in to that show.

I’ll have to make sure I watch it during the day. I know if I watch it at night I won’t be able to sleep. I’m a big scaredy cat.

You know what’s not as scary as zombies? Cupcakes.

Nutella cupcakes.

For those who don’t know what Nutella is, it’s a chocolate hazelnut spread.

It’s great when paired with peanut butter, marshmallow fluff, or bacon.

Sometimes I like to eat it straight out of the jar.

Nutella cupcakes. Way less scary than zombies.

Nutella Cupcakes (makes 12 cupcakes)

Ingredients

½ cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature

½ cup granulated white sugar

½ cup Nutella

2 eggs

¼ cup milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup flour

¼ cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325⁰ F.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together for about 2 minutes. Add Nutella and mix until smooth. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, and vanilla. Add egg mixture to butter mixture. Beat until combined.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Mix until combined.
  4. Pour into lined cupcake tins and fill about ¾ of the way full. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Cool cupcakes completely before frosting.

Nutella Frosting (for approx. 12 cupcakes)

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

½ cup Nutella

1 ¾ cups powdered sugar

½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 tablespoons milk

Directions

  1. Cream butter and Nutella for 1-2 minutes.
  2. Add powdered sugar a little at a time while mixing with a hand mixer. Once all sugar is incorporated, beat for 1-2 minutes more.
  3. Add vanilla and milk. Beat for another minute.
2 thoughts on “Nutella Cupcakes

    • Thanks! I think one of these would be totally okay to eat even if you are on a diet. Actually Nutella is kinda healthy because it’s made with skim milk. 🙂 Have a lovely day!

What's up, Buttercup?

