Mexican Brownies

I’m weird.

And despite my weirdness, you still choose to visit my little blog.

Or perhaps you stop by because of my weirdness.

Either way, I’d like to say thanks.

Thanks for hanging out with me. Thanks for letting me talk about Doctor Who, food, and my kids waaaaay more than you probably care to hear. Thanks for letting me be completely self-indulgent. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog.

So, back to me being weird.

There are times when I will burst out laughing at something that happened a few days or even a few weeks earlier. Do you ever do that? Then people around you just give you a look. Sometimes with one eyebrow raised. You know they’re thinking, “What a weirdo. She’s either high or delirious. Maybe a bit of both.”

Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this. Please tell me that you are also in the I-can’t-stop-laughing-at-something-that-happened-weeks ago-and-everyone-around-me-thinks-I’m-crazy club. Awesome. We should totally come up with a secret handshake and get buttons made.

Sometimes I wish I could reach through the computer screen and give you some of my baked goods. I know. That’s a bit weird. But then I could share some of these with you.

Mexican brownies.

Fudgy Mexican brownies.

Topped with some Dulce de Leche ice cream.

Muy delicioso!

Mexican Brownies

Ingredients

1 ½ cups granulated sugar

⅔ cup brown sugar

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup cocoa powder

¼ cup dark chocolate cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark – feel free to just use all regular cocoa powder)

¾ cup all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

⅛ teaspoon cayenne pepper

3 eggs, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

¾ cup butter (1 ½ sticks), melted

¼ cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350⁰F.
  2. Spray a 13×9 inch pan with nonstick cooking spray or line with parchment paper.
  3. In a large bowl, combine sugars, salt, cocoa powder, flour, cinnamon and cayenne pepper with a whisk.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, vanilla, and butter.
  5. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and gently mix. Be sure to not over mix.
  6. Fold in mini chocolate chips.
  7. Pour batter into the pan and bake for 30-35 minutes.

Print This Recipe

4 thoughts on “Mexican Brownies

What's up, Buttercup?

