Big Island Trip: Part 1

My in-laws live on the Big Island (Pahoa) and we try to visit them at least once a year.

We were lucky that our girls didn’t cause too much of a fuss when we were waiting to board our plane.

Thank goodness for laptops.

Thalia rode a train at the mall, hung out with her cousin Hali’a, and fed some animals.

Yesterday we headed to my in-laws’ timeshare in Waikoloa. We stopped at Tex’s along the way. Although I’m a huge fan of Leonard’s malasadas, I have to admit, I think I like Tex’s just a tad more. Their malasadas are less oily, are slightly bigger, and the texture is oh-so-soft. They’re like pillowy bites of heaven. I’m sure I’ll get hate mail from all the Leonard’s enthusiasts, but if you’re ever on the Big Island, give Tex’s a try. You won’t be disappointed.

We stopped at Village Burger in Waimea for lunch. I really enjoyed the food there. Their burgers come on brioche buns. Love that. As an added bonus, they support local agriculture, make their burgers with locally raised beef, and use compostable cups. If you’re not a fan of beef, they also have a mushroom and ahi burger on their menu. Whenever we make our way out to Waikoloa, this will definitely be a place we return to.

Amara liked the pool fountains!

My awesome friend Marianne works at Tommy Bahama’s Tropical Cafe at The Shops at Mauna Lani. We stopped by to see her and got some pupus, jerk chicken lollipops and a crab cake, and drinks, Big Swell IPA by Maui Brewing Co. and a Cantaloupe Tonight.

The crab cake was filled with mostly crab and not a lot of filler, which is how they should always be made. The jerk chicken had a lovely flavor, slightly sweet and hot at the same time. I highly recommend the Cantaloupe Tonight. Very tasty. And it really does taste like cantaloupe despite not having any cantaloupe juice or flavoring in it.

So far, this trip gets two thumbs up.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go work out.

You know, to balance out the 20,000 calories I’ve consumed so far.

*Hey Marianne, SPOON! Sorry. Inside joke. 

What's up, Buttercup?

