Mamaya

After a successful Christmas shopping outing on Saturday, my husband, youngest, and I were looking for somewhere to satiate our hunger. As we were waiting at a red light in front of Pearl Kai Shopping Center, the signage for Mamaya beckoned us with these words: gourmet Japanese food, bentos, deli, and musubis. Lucky for us, Mamaya did not disappoint.

It’s not a very huge space inside (there are six two-seater café style tables), but it doesn’t necessarily need to be. It’s easy enough to just pick up food to go. You can choose from prepacked bentos, musubis, poke bowls, sushi rolls, or you can try out their hot and cold deli. A bonus for this place – they give out FREE samples! Yes. I am totally serious. You can try out any item from their hot and cold deli. Pretty sweet, huh?

We decided to get one bento, a sushi roll, and some hot deli items. (We didn’t have to buy a drink since they offer free water.) But before I show you that, check this out.

I thought it was pretty cool that a toothpick came with the chopsticks. Yes, I know. I’m easily amused.

A delicious (according to my hubby) salmon bento. I’m not a huge fan of salmon but he and my youngest loved it. I enjoyed the rice and other pickled sides.

If I see it offered, I will usually get a spicy ahi roll. This particular one was just okay. Not enough heat for me. Tasty, yes. Spicy, not so much.

The eggplant and mochiko chicken are really good but the star of the show, hands down, is the fried pork hash. Let me say that again. FRIED. PORK. HASH. My husband said that this completely ruined steamed pork hash for him.

Since Mamaya is pretty new (they opened on December 5th), they were offering a free cup of Hawaiian Paradise Coffee with any purchase as part of their Grand Opening promotion. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The space is very clean and it just has a nice vibe about it. Also, the pricing is pretty decent for what you get. We paid about $15 for everything.

The verdict? Mamaya rocks.

You should go. Like, now. And get me some fried pork hash.

Mamaya | 98-199 Kamehameha Hwy Aiea, HI 96701
Hours: Monday-Friday 7:00am – 7:00pm  Saturday 9:00am – 7:00pm  Sunday 10:00am – 6:30pm
Credit Cards Accepted

One thought on “Mamaya

What's up, Buttercup?

