Sugarlina Bakeshop

Even though I ate a good amount at Mamaya on Saturday, I managed to save room for a sweet treat. On a recommendation from a friend (Thanks Ryan Miyashiro!) I dragged my husband and our 2-year-old to Sugarlina Bakeshop. Guys, I am happy to report, it’s a place you most definitely want to check out.*

Sugarlina Bakeshop is located in the Pearl Kai Shopping Center and is, to put it simply, really cute. I could totally see it in the Marais district of Paris. The space is light and airy with just a handful of tables and chairs. We were greeted by two friendly cashiers who offered us FREE samples of their banana pudding. Who can resist something like that?

After much deliberation, I decided to order a s’mores cupcake and a crème brûlée macaron. The s’mores cupcake, with its mountain of toasted marshmallow, was moist, chocolaty, and just the right amount of sweet. The crème brûlée macaron. Oh man. After my first bite, I swear I heard Lianne LaHavas singing**. It’s a definite must-try. If you need something to wash down all that sugary goodness, they offer complimentary lemon water.

So many sweets, so little time.

Sugarlina Bakeshop rotates its flavors on a daily basis. When you go, I suggest you bring along a friend or two so that you can share and try out several different flavors at once. The prices for the cupcakes are very typical of what you see in cupcake shops these days, $2.95 for one. The macarons are $1.85 a piece but I think they’re totally worth it. You get so much flavor packed into every single bite.

So if you’re in the Pearl Kai area and your sweet tooth is just begging to be satisfied, head on over to Sugarlina Bakeshop.
And if you decide that you want to get me a cupcake or macaron while you’re there, I will happily accept it.

*Unless, of course, you’re one of those people who doesn’t like sweets. To which I have to say, really? REALLY?! {sigh} As long as you like bacon, French fries, or Doctor Who, I think we can remain friends. 

**In my book, she qualifies as an angel.

Sugarlina Bakeshop | 98-199 Kamehameha Highway F4 Aiea, HI 96701 | 808.312.3173 | Open Mon. –  Sat. 10:30am – 8:00pm

What's up, Buttercup?

