Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

Most weekend days it takes me like a minute to pick something out to wear.

Weekdays it takes like 20 seconds.

Yesterday was different.

I stared at the clothes in my closet for a full five minutes and just didn’t find anything I really wanted to wear.

I didn’t feel like wearing a dress, which is my go-to weekend outfit. Mostly because wearing a dress during the week is just not gonna happen when you’re  a SAHM.

I didn’t feel like wearing my SAHM uniform either.

And although I love my T.A.R.D.I.S. and Éowyn costumes, they aren’t really meant for going to the Farmer’s Market and watching a football game at my sister’s house. (Congrats to the 49ers and Ravens!)

Think I need to save money and pick up some new clothes later.

Blergh. I know I’m being super complainy. I apologize. Here’s some cupcakes. They’re really good. Promise.

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes (makes 12 cupcakes)

Ingredients

Cupcake

½ cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature

¾ cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

½ cup sour cream

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

½ tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

Topping

1 tablespoon granulated sugar

¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350⁰ F.
  2. In a large bowl, using a hand mixer, cream butter and sugar together for about 2 minutes.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, sour cream, and vanilla. Add egg mixture to butter mixture. Beat until combined.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Mix until combined.
  5. Pour into lined cupcake tins and fill about ⅔ of the way full. Bake for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Cool cupcakes completely before frosting.
  7. In a small bowl, stir together sugar and cinnamon for topping. Sprinkle evenly over frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting (for approx. 10-12 cupcakes)

Ingredients

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 (8oz.) package cream cheese, room temperature

1 ¼ cups powdered sugar

½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 tablespoon milk

Directions

  1. Cream butter and cream cheese for 1-2 minutes.
  2. Add powdered sugar a little at a time while mixing with a hand mixer. Once all sugar is incorporated, beat for 1-2 minutes more.
  3. Add vanilla and milk. Beat for another minute.
Print This Recipe
One thought on “Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Snickerdoodle Blondies « Butterflies and Brownies

What's up, Buttercup?

