Panya Bistro

After a meeting with our financial advisor, my husband and I decided to grab some lunch at Panya Bistro in Ala Moana Center. We arrived around 11:30 and since we got there before the lunch rush we were seated right away.

The bistro area decor is slightly modern, with one wall covered with mirror tiles and another with hanging metal circles. The space was a bit intimate, with around 15 tables total and some seats at the bar. I would recommend not going with a party larger than four. If you’d like to just nosh on some pastries from the bakery, there are a few tables right outside the doors.

The menu has a little bit of everything. From burgers and sandwiches to salads and pork chops as well as Asian style curries and noodles. My husband ordered the Taiwanese Style Beef Noodle Soup and I ordered the Dan Dan Noodles (without soup).

The Dan Dan Noodles are made with ground pork and a spicy peanut sauce. It was definitely spicy enough but I thought it could have used a little bit of sweetness to balance out the saltiness and the heat. I added some of my husband’s pickled vegetables, which were slightly sweet, to my noodles and that helped a bit. The Taiwanese Style Beef Noodle Soup had a decent broth and the meat was quite tender. Nothing amazing though.

Overall verdict: So-so.

I think I had higher expectations for this place. The food was good but not spectacular. The service was adequate but not something to really praise. The prices were typical for Ala Moana ($$). I don’t know if I’ll go back to the bistro but I may try their bakery later.

Panya Bistro | Ala Moana Center (Mauka Side) 1450 Ala Moana Blvd. Honolulu, HI 96814 | 808.946.6388 | Website
Hours | Monday – Saturday 7:30am – 11:00pm

**If you know of any eateries on O’ahu you think I should try, let me know in the comments below. I’ll try almost anything as long as it’s within our budget (so no Ruth’s Chris or Alan Wong’s) and it doesn’t have to be a sit down restaurant. I love hole-in-the-wall or non-chain places, food trucks, and anywhere that specializes in sweets. I’m also partial to places that use lots of fresh, local ingredients.**

What's up, Buttercup?

