Quinoa with Chicken, Bacon, and Zucchini

I’m in a weird mood today.

I think I’m PMSing. (Sorry to any guys reading this.)

All I want to do is stay in my pajamas ALL DAY.

I want to eat crap stuff like nacho fries, cookie dough, and pretzel bites with chocolate sauce.

I want to lie on the couch and watch You’ve Got Mail and Love Actually.

I want to have no responsibilities whatsoever except for the previously mentioned things.

But seeing as I have to, you know, take care of my kids and stuff, I won’t be doing any of that.

On a totally separate note, I made some quinoa for ya’ll.

It’s not very photogenic, but it’s got bacon in it.

Bacon makes everything better.

Quinoa with Chicken, Bacon, and Zucchini

Ingredients

1 cup quinoa

2 cups water or chicken stock

3 slices bacon, cut into ½ inch pieces

1 medium zucchini (or Italian Squash), roughly chopped

½ medium onion, roughly chopped

2 boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut into 1 inch pieces

½ teaspoon dried oregano

½ teaspoon dried parsley

1 tablespoon lemon juice

¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

½ cup pecans, roughly chopped (optional)

Salt, to taste

Pepper, to taste

¼ cup parmesan cheese, grated (optional)

Directions

  1. Cook quinoa according to package instructions.
  2. While quinoa is cooking, cook bacon in a sauté pan over medium heat until crispy. Remove bacon with slotted spoon and place on paper towel lined plate.
  3. Add zucchini and onion to pan. Cook for 2-3 minutes. Add chicken and cook until no longer pink. Add oregano, parsley, lemon juice, crushed red pepper flake and cook for 1-2 minutes. Add pecans, salt, pepper, and bacon pieces and cook for a minute.
  4. Remove pan from heat. In a large bowl, combine quinoa and chicken and zucchini mixture. Add parmesan cheese and stir to combine.

Print This Recipe

What's up, Buttercup?